I have enjoyed the conversation about our new standards because they have all been positive.  Their might be some trepidation for the very near future on how we are going to change our teaching and most importantly, assessment methods but everybody seems to agree that less will be more in term of in-depth learning and higher creative thinking.  

I'm hearing that many of us are looking to tech tools to support the new standards.  My take on is...

*There are many out there and some more effective than others.  These tools do the same thing now and the only change in effectiveness will come from how their used by the instructor. 

*Some apps will step out and help save the day like Show Me, Puppet Pals, Educreations, and Explain Everything.  These are apps that allow students to create videos and use screen shots that can then be explained using visual options like arrows, backgrounds, pictures, photos, etc.  These allow students to explain and show inference in a way lined paper cannot.  

*Google Apps & Drive will assist teachers in analyzing student work.

*There are many ways to use collaboration to model the new Listening & Speaking standards.  It is here that teachers will reach for technology.  Presenting oneself with formal vernacular on a video screen is intimidating...at least it was for me.  I never had so many opportunities to practice compared to students now.  I can turn on my ipad and take wonderful video and then edit away with seconds.  Hitting the playback on a speech can be a wonderful learning experience.

...and the winner of this year's Action Research Choice is...

Stay tuned...



Leave a Reply.

    Chris Carlson

    I'm an Instructional Technology Teacher for three elementary schools in Fairbanks, AK.  I balance out the screen with a strong dose of skiing, wood chopping, and house building.  I throw the softball around in the summer and I really like taco pizza.

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013

    Categories

    All
    #seaccr