Better yet, what am I finding out as I plow through the necessary hoops getting my research approved by the Research and Accountability department.  I have the survey created for the participants and the screencast tools I need.  Creating the appropriate questions to gauge the effectiveness has proved to be the hardest part.  It’s also difficult to extract exactly what I’m looking to clarify from the information I’m assuming I’ll receive.  First off, I don’t want to make this a comparison to the traditional in-service type professional development.  I won’t be delivering a whole concept or introducing a video manual that covers a wide range of technical steps.  The screencasts would only replace those situations where a teacher or any staff makes an appointment for me to come in and clarify a part of an application or smartboard, projector, or document camera issue.  Making an appointment works fine but may take a few days before I’m available.  So I am going to be explicit as to what the screencast are for.  They do take some time to make and if I replace every appointment with a screencast, I might not ever leave the computer.  I am also becoming aware that not every screencasts are created equal.  Some are going to be better than others and it can’t be assumed that everyone in my position is going to feel comfortable creating a screencast.  So this week, I’m hoping to have at least five participants who have some tech issues they need clarifying and I’ll start getting data from my surveys.  Until then, I’m making sure my delivery system works.  I’m going to make a screencast for my mom who has a myriad of tech issues to choose from.  I’ll have her complete the surveys and then I’ll hear about how the whole process went.  I might have to modify the process from there.
Carrollea Hubbard
10/17/2013 11:14:11 pm

Chris,
It sounds like you are having to work hard at DC. I also think your hard work will pay off. I like the idea of making the screencasts for your mom and having her fill out a survey. Moms are good at providing candid feedback. I think you will find her responses valuable for your DC.
I also hope the R & A dept backs off and reduces the hoop factor soon for you. They need to work with you not against you at this point.
Teaching with technology tools like Screencast streamlines the entire material delivery process. I have used screencasts for test reviews, homework problem examples, and presentations.
The best feature is that I do not have to repeat the problem steps over again because the student can rewind and play again. The downside to producing screencasts is that it takes several takes to achieve a level of quality not too embarrassing to submit...however to say this best, practice makes perfect but takes time, patience, and focus. I am thankful for the restart (forgot what it's called) feature.
Finding a way to promote screencast enthusiasm may be necessary. One good point to support screencast is that it is less intimidating and requires less finesse than producing a video.
Good Luck,
Carrollea

Reply
chris
10/18/2013 06:34:03 pm

I'm torn regarding The R&A Dept. I would like to have a day or two turn around but I'm grateful for the heavy dose of ethics out district has adopted. That being said, "Three Weeks???" It's not a very heavy proposal. Eitherway, something is going to come out of this. I'm already learning about how people perceive Screencasts and there willingness to ask for help. This will lead to something.

Reply
Carrollea Hubbard
10/17/2013 11:31:20 pm

I also wanted to mention that I like your website. The photo of the youngster with the golden hair picking berries on a beautiful sunny day is lovely. Was the photo taken outside of FBX towards Chena, Denali Hwy, or elsewhere? I also like your author bio...it sounds like you and your family love living in Alaska, teaching, shushing, chopping wood for winter, building homes, playing softball, and eating taco pizza. I love it! We're shushers too. A good friend from skiing calls cross-country skiing shushing. We like to say we are going shushing. Looking forward to the snow but still enjoying fall. It would be nice if we could rewind the seasons and replay certain parts like we can on screencast. If I could I would rewind for a day just like the one at the top of this screen.
I hope you have a great day!
Carrollea

Reply
chris
10/18/2013 06:31:12 pm

The photo was taken 40 miles NorthEast on the Steese Highway. It was a beautiful day for picking blueberries.
I have officially adopted the term "shushing" for CrossCountry skiing. I first thought your were referring to teaching due the amount of "shushing" we do with the students but then it occurred to me.

Reply
Carrollea Hubbard
10/17/2013 11:31:32 pm

I also wanted to mention that I like your website. The photo of the youngster with the golden hair picking berries on a beautiful sunny day is lovely. Was the photo taken outside of FBX towards Chena, Denali Hwy, or elsewhere? I also like your author bio...it sounds like you and your family love living in Alaska, teaching, shushing, chopping wood for winter, building homes, playing softball, and eating taco pizza. I love it! We're shushers too. A good friend from skiing calls cross-country skiing shushing. We like to say we are going shushing. Looking forward to the snow but still enjoying fall. It would be nice if we could rewind the seasons and replay certain parts like we can on screencast. If I could I would rewind for a day just like the one at the top of this screen.
I hope you have a great day!
Carrollea

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Chris Carlson

    I'm an Instructional Technology Teacher for three elementary schools in Fairbanks, AK.  I balance out the screen with a strong dose of skiing, wood chopping, and house building.  I throw the softball around in the summer and I really like taco pizza.

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013

    Categories

    All
    #seaccr